June 17, 2024

June 17, 2024

Police Service Commission Appoints New DIG, Promotes 122 Officers

The Police Service Commission (PSC) has on  Friday appointed the  Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG) in  charge of Zone 14 Katsina., Yahaya Sahabo Abubakar as Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG).

Abubakar with his new appointment fills the slot of the North East in the Police Management Team, following the retirement  of  Habu Sani, a DIG.

A statement by  the Head, Press and Public Relations, PSC, Ikechukwu Ani, said the Commission also approved the promotion of 122 other senior Police Officers; 10 Commissioners of Police to the next rank of AIGs; 15 Deputy Commissioners of Police to substantive Commissioners and 36 Assistant Commissioners of Police to Deputy Commissioners. Sixty-one Chief Superintendents of Police were also elevated to the next rank of Assistant Commissioners of Police.

Ani said the decisions were taken at the extraordinary Management Meeting of the Commission held on Thursday, June 6th, 2024, presided over by the Chairman of the Commission, Solomon Arase.

The statement said  the 15 Deputy Commissioners of Police; 10 Commissioners and AIG Abubakar had  appeared before the Commission in session for the compulsory interactive promotion interview before their elevation.

According to the statement, the Commissioners of Police promoted to the new rank of AIGs are: Ahmed Ammani, former CP Enugu and currently in ICT Department, Force Headquarters; Mohammed Dankwara Adamu Deputy Commandant Police Academy, Wudil Kano; Gumel Mohammed Usaini, CP Kano State Command; Hamzat Adebola Ayinde, CP Oyo State Command; Okuoma Idegwu Basil, CP Elections, Force Headquarters Abuja; Achinyan Zachary’s Fera; CP FCID Enugu; Baba Zango Ibrahim, CP DFA, FCID, Abuja; Mohammed Isyaku, CP Admin, FCID Annex Lagos and CP Margaret Agebe Ochalla, CP Police Special Fraud Unit Annex Lagos.

The statement also said DCP Bassey Samuel Ewah, DC Admin, Department of Operations, Force Headquarters; Osagie John Agans-Irabor, SCID, Benue State Command; DCP Edem Ita Selong, Admin and Finance, Zone 9 Umuahia and DCP Monday Agbonika, Interpol Annex Lagos were promoted to the substantive rank of Commissioners of Police.

According to Ani, other Deputy Commissioners promoted to CPs were Michael Okoh, Department of Operations, Zone 9 Umuahia; Ayodele Oluyemi Sonubi, State CID, Oyo State Command; Iyama Daniel Edobor, Operations Department, Bayelsa State Command; Isa Danladi Nda, SWAT, FCID Abuja; Akaniyene Ifebem Ezima Zonal CID, Zone 17 Akure and Livingston Ikioye Orutugu, Commandant PMF Training School Ende Hills Jos.

DCP Bello Rashid Afegbua, Admin, Department of Training, Force Headquarters, Abuja; Hycenth Azuka Edozie Force Operations FCID, FHQ Abuja; Haruna Alaba Yahaya, Interpol, FCID Abuja; Peter Ozigi Umoru, Zonal CID, Zone 8, Lokoja; Ayotunde Godwin Omodeinde, Operations Department, Cross Rivers State Command, are also among those elevated to be CPs.

The statement added that the 36 Assistant Commissioners of Police promoted to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners include; Obo Ukam Obo; Musibau Adeola Adedoyin; Lawal Bamidele Adeshina and Anthony Okon Placid. Others are Onyeamu Akaeme Onyeamu, AC, Ops, Enugu State Command; Suleiman K. Bayonle, Commander PMF 20, Lagos; Asuquo Effiong, Special Investigation Unit FHQ, Abuja; Mustapha A. Rufai, Area Commander Auchi; Victor Akongtendor Bepeh, DFA, BPF, Force Headquarters Abuja; Chinedu Ugwu, Area Commander, Oji River Enugu Command; Kingsley Ifeanyi Woke SCID Ebonyi State Command; Issah Onize Lawal, Zonal CID Zone 2 Lagos and Ifeanyi Aham Ohuruzo, Commander PMF 21 Abuja.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *